Torah’s Refining Fires

My wife and I have been listening to various debates by Rabbi Tovia Singer, Rabbi David Blumofe, and Dr. Michael Brown. The information has only been affirming for me and I think it is a fair way to present the arguments to my wife. Dr. Brown is a decent debater. R’ Singer is excellent as well. R’ Blumofe comes at the New Testament from a unique angle (with over 200 proofs against Jesus), more so than some other counter-missionaries.

It has also been affirming to hear from the many former messianics that my wife and I have known who have either converted, are in the process of converting or are currently doubting. I know that this phenomenon has happened commonly in the last few decades as Gentiles have turned to Torah but I suspect it will increase as more of us speak out about Jesus. Let the reader understand: I do not wish to convert others to Judaism. I am simply saying that as intelligent people study Judaism for Judaism’s sake, they may be naturally drawn to its ultimate conclusion: embracing the Sages and Tradition and letting go of the lies they have been taught.

English: Reading of the Torah, Aish Synagogue,...

Without Moses there can be no messiah. Without Torah, anyone can be a messiah. Jesus' existence and his failure are subsumed under both premises.

One could finger Judaism (or even Torah) as the great corrupter of Hebrew Christians; an accusation that I have actually heard with my own ears. But maybe another approach could be that the Torah is a holy purifier in whose fires Jesus, Yeshua, or Yoshke (whatever your preferred name for him is) cannot withstand and by whose illumination reveals that he is a false messiah.

2 comments
  1. Ploni said:

    I like Rabbi Singer’s debate with Michael Brown a lot. Tovia Singer is probably the one with the most valid points. But I was less impressed with Rabbi Blumofe’s arguments. As well, Rabbi Boteach seems to rely more on emotional appeals than logic in his debate. I see there is a new debate on YouTube between Rabbi Gold and Michael Brown, and I’ll probably watch it soon.

    Have you seen the movie, The Disputation, about Nachmanidies and Christiano’s debate? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWeHBaHyoOY

    • Just saw it (The Disputation) thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

