An Open Letter To The Local Jewish Leaders In Austin, Texas

B”H

Dear Rabbis and Jewish Leaders,
My name is Jeisyn Murphy and I am a former member of the “Messianic” community in Austin, Texas. I have been regarded as a teacher and leader in that movement by some.You may have seen me at various events at the J or in the Kosher section of HEB from time to time. Almost two weeks ago I publicly renounced my belief that Jesus (or Yeshua as some call him) is the messiah. I have renounced “Messianic Judaism,” Christianity, and all forms of idolatry. My sincere desire is to convert through Orthodox Judaism. I have been studying and trying to live according to Torah on my own the last seven years, always in the background of the Austin Jewish community because of my erroneous beliefs. But I have now set aside all Christian/Messianic teachings. I want to observe Hashem’s Torah as a righteous Jew and to join the Jewish people.
I have written about my journey out of Christianity/Messianic Judaism in a very public blog. Please feel free to read it and comment: www.lehitgayer.com.
My family and I are sustaining a great deal of criticism and hurtful actions as we, of course, have been declared anathema by former friends and family. It is a very lonely and trying time but if we can become Jews and wait for the true messiah of Israel it will be worth it; and I feel unworthy to even aspire to such a goal.
I’m writing you because I hope that if you see me and/or my family you will extend comfort and support to us. I am asking you to do chesed to future gerim, b’ezrat Hashem. I want to be open and honest about who I have been and who I desire to be. I am happy to answer questions and prove myself trustworthy. I also want you to be aware that many messianics are active in the Jewish community. I am sure you are aware of some of their activities but I want to caution you of their true intentions. Sometimes there are whole messianic congregations who show up at the Conservative synagogue for prayer or other services. There is one who brags in various circles about his accepted status among Conservative Jews stating that he has even been allowed to wear a tallit and that he prays with them often. Others who are more daring will visit Chabad classes or other Orthodox events in town. These people have no desire to support or help the Jewish people. They may come to the shuls to pray wearing kippah and tallit but they all actively support missionary activities here in the U.S. and Israel. They also invite less observant and elderly Jews to Erev Shabbat meals, Seders, and other chaggim in order to get them involved in the Messianic movement. Those who may have grown up less observant would find Torah scrolls, siddurim, and the various accoutrements associated with observant life in these places and may start to feel “at home.” But these people are being led astray and I wish to help prevent this in any way that I can because as soon as someone rejects Jesus, like I have, you see how they will ultimately treat the Jewish people.
Please feel free to contact me if I can be of specific help or if you have advice about where I should go from here.
Thank you,
Jeisyn Murphy
Jeisyn Murphy
7 comments
  1. Nelson said:

    Many times we have visitors come to our shul, both Jews and non-Jews, usually Christians. For the most part they’re very respectful people that just seem to be curious about Jewish life, and if they want to pray Jewish prayers, maybe that gives meaning to their beliefs. I’ve never seen any proselytizing or heard of any of them coming to “set us straight.” Even my Christian friends at work are fine with my practice, and are happy to come to my Hanukkah party. Many events hosted by the Jewish community are open to the public, so no big surprise there, either. We have public Hanukkah events downtown and in other venues and non-Jews show up. I say that’s a good thing.
    You say going to Chabad or other Orthodox events is more daring. What exactly does that mean? Going to a Conservative event is less daring?

    • Thank you for your thoughts Nelson. I know there are exceptions to what I have written and Messianics/Christians vary from place to place.

      By more daring I was thinking of Gentiles wearing tzitzit and tefillin at an Orthodox shul; some even accepting an aliyah. I didn’t mean to cast anything
      negative on Conservative shuls.

      • Nelson said:

        Non-Jews coming to shul to learn shows respect for the spiritual tradition that can make them better people. There are families in intermarriage situations that have found a place of mutual respect and observance for their beliefs. What is your opinion of mixed-faith families attending shul?

      • Since I’m hoping and praying that my wife comes along and also completely rejects Jesus as messiah and desires to convert, mixed-faith families aren’t really my focus. I would hope those in that situation talk with the rabbi as long as they have his approval and remain respectful, everything should be copacetic.

  2. Reuel said:

    Why not just become a Noahide follower then?

    • If you’re asking me, that’s not good enough for me. I want all of the Torah and to live and die among the Jewish people.

  3. wil said:

    Baruch Hashem,

    We welcome you from wil and brenda texas
    Noahides

Leave a Reply

